# Austin County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2

P.O. BOX 176 - 1646 MAIN STREET, INDUSTRY. TEXAS 78944 979-357-4477

Email: jp2@austincounty.com

Monday - Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Closed for Lunch & Friday - 8:00 a.m-12:00 p.m.

## READ ALL OF THE FOLLOWING BEFORE CALLING THE COURT

PLEASE NOTE: The Judge cannot discuss the merits of a pending judicial proceeding prior to trial (Canon 3(5). Code of Judicial Conduct).

### YOU MUST CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS:

Determine your fine by the schedule below. Call phone number above if your violation is not listed below. Circle GUILTY or NO CONTEST on the REPLY FORM (other side-**Section A, Check Box 1**). Send (mail):

- Complete REPLY FORM-Section A
- And payment by <u>Cashier's Check or Money Order</u> (NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED) to the court above, <u>postmarked by the appearance date</u> <u>noted on your ticket.</u>
- Or pay online at <u>www.austincountypay.com</u> (No partial payments)

### 

To be eligible you MUST do ALL of the following:

- 1. Complete the REPLY FORM (other side-Section A, Check Box 2)
- 2. Complete the REQUEST FORM FOR DRIVING SAFETY COURSE and have NOTARIZED (other side Section B)
- 3. Mail REPLY FORM, Notarized REQUEST FORM (Section A and Section B), and Cashier's Check or Money Order for \$146.00, postmarked by your appearance date on your citation.
- 4. REQUEST a 3A Certified Copy of your driving record from DPS by applying online at <a href="http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm">http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm</a>.
- 5. Photocopy of your current auto liability policy and photocopy of valid Texas Driver License.
- 6. Make sure ALL information is typed or legibly printed. Re-check envelope to make sure all items are enclosed.

### 

#### You must send:

- 1. Complete REPLY FORM (other side-Section A, Check Box 3)
- 2. Complete the REQUEST FORM (other side-Section C)
- 3. Mail REPLY FORM (Section A), REQUEST FORM (Section C), postmarked by your appearance date, to the court above.
- 4. REQUEST a 3A Certified Copy of your driving record from DPS by applying online at <a href="http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm">http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm</a>.
- 5. If the court grants deferred disposition, you will be placed on probation for up to 180 days. If you successfully complete the probation period, the charge will be dismissed. If the court denies your request, you will be allowed to withdraw your plea or pay the fine.
- 6. And payment by Cashier's Check or Money Order (NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED) to the court above
- 7. Photocopy of your current auto liability policy and photocopy of valid Texas Driver License.
- 8. Make sure ALL information is typed or legibly printed. Re-check envelope to make sure all items are enclosed.

## 

#### You must send:

- 1. Complete REPLY FORM (other side-Section A, Check Box 4), noting NOT GUILTY plea and desired Judge or Jury Trial.
- 2. Copy of Driver's License

You will be notified by mail of trial date-you MUST notify court if your address changes.

## 

A phone call is NOT an appearance; you MUST enter a plea in person or in writing!

After your appearance date passes and you have failed to appear (enter a plea) in court:

- You may be charged with an additional violation of Violate Promise to Appear or Failure to Appear.
- Warrants will be issued for your arrest, plus an additional fee.
- The renewal of your Driver's License may be <u>Denied</u> and turned over to collection agency. Additional fees will be applied.

### SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES (EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020)

#### Contact Court If Violation Is Not Listed, Occurred in A School Zone or In a Construction Zone with Workers Present

### Traffic Violations (Court Costs Included)

		ITAIIIC VIOIAUOI
1.	Speeding:	
	1 to 10 MPH over Speed Limited	\$166.00
	6 to 10 MPH over Speed Limited	\$186.00
	16 to 20 MPH over Speed Limited	\$236.00
	21 to 24 MPH over Speed Limited	\$286.00
	25 MPH over speed limit	\$336.00
2.	No Valid or Expired Registration	\$151.00*
3.	Expired Driver's License/D.L. violation	\$171.00
4.	No Driver's License	\$221.00
5.	Driving While License Invalid	\$266.00
6	Equipment Violations, Seat Belt, Child Safet	v Seat \$146 00

Red Light / Stop Sign/ Fail to Yield Right of Way \$236.00

ots included)				
8.	Unsafe or Fail to Control Speed	\$236.00		
9.	Pass Stationary Emergency Vehicle	\$241.00		
10.	Open Container	\$221.00		
11.	No Liability Insurance (1st Offense)	\$296.00**		

\*Registration renewed prior to the court date and the renewal/penalty fees paid will be dismissed with a payment of a \$20.00 dismissal fee.

\*\*Insurance violations will be dismissed upon presentation to the court proof that the vehicle was covered by a valid policy at the time of the ticket.

# ALTERNATIVES TO PAYMENT OF FINES

If you are unable to pay the fine and costs, there are alternatives to the full payment of any fine or costs owed, and we will discuss this with you at court. Should you not appear at our court, you could be arrested for failure to appear.

# **REPLY FORM**

Mail this form, with other items requested, to the Justice Court shown at the top of the opposite page.

# Section A

Name (Print or type as it appears on your Driver's License)		Driver's License Number or Date of Birth Telephone Number (Daytime)				
Current Mailing Address	City, State, Zip	Email Address				
Citation No.	Date of Citation	Date cited to appear on or before				
Alleged Violation Description #	l (entered plea below)	Alleged Violation Description # (entered plea below)				
CHECK ONE AND CIRCLE:	CHECK ONE AND CIRCLE: (Under 17 years of age must appear with a parent or guardian)					
A Cashier's Che	I hereby enter plea of (circle one) GUILTY or NO CONTEST to violation #, (and violation #) and waive appearance for trial. A Cashier's Check or Money Order in the total amount of the fine(s) as shown on the reverse side, is enclosed, or I have paid by credit card. I understand that payment of the fine will result in a conviction.					
	plea of (circle one) GUILTY or NO CONTEST to g Safety Course (DSC). I have completely filled or	o violation #, and waive appearance for trial, and request Court ut Section B.				
I hereby enter a plea (circle one) GUILTY or NO CONTEST to violation #, (and violation #) and waive appearance for trial, and request that the Court grant me deferred disposition. If you are younger than 25 years of age, you must complete a driver safety course.						
I hereby enter a plea of NOT GUILTY to alleged violation #, (and violation #) and request the court advise me of my trial date. You will be notified of Pre-Trial hearing date by mail.  INITIAL ONE:						
	I request a Jury Trial I waive my right to Jury Trial and request a	trial before the court (Trial before a Judge).				
SIGNATURE:		DATE:				
SECTION B	AFFIDAVIT FOR DRIVI	NG SAFETY COURSE				
FAILURE TO REMIT	THIS FORM ON OR BEFORE YOUR APPEARANC	CE DATE WILL RESULT IN INELIGIBILITY FOR THE COURSE.				
I do NOT possess a Commo I possess a valid TEXAS dr I have NOT taken a driving I am NOT in the process of This violation did NOT occ I understand I CANNOT ta more over the posted speed limit I enclose valid proof of Fin I enclose a money order or I understand that this form I understand that I am responder in the service of the servic	safety course in lieu of paying a fine during the past year taking a driving safety course to dismiss another offense. For in a construction zone while workers were present. The taken the driving safety course in lieu of paying the fine if I is the lancial Responsibility (insurance). (A photocopy is accept cashier's check (NO PERSONAL CHECKS) made pay. Must be NOTARIZED.  Somit the signed Court Copy of the DSC Certificate of compound the signed Court Copy of the DSC Certificate of compounds the signed Court Copy of the DSC Certificate of compounds that the signed Court Copy of the DSC Certificate of compounds that the signed Court Copy of the DSC Certificate of compounds that the signed Court Copy of the DSC Certificate of compounds that the signed Court copy is true and correct.	am accused of speeding 95 miles per hour or more or speeding 25 MPH or ptable—NO ORIGINALS PLEASE)  vable to the Austin County JP#2 Court in the amount of \$146.00.  ensing approved Driving Safety Course within 90 days from the date this appletion to the Court and 3A Certified Copy of your driving record from perfore the expiration of 120 days from the notarized date.				
Under penalty of Perjury, I swear or affirm that the above is true and correct.  SIGNATURE						
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBI (Seal)	ED BEFORE ME this the day of					
	NOTARY PUBLIC					
Section C	REQUEST FOR DEFERF	RED DISPOSITION				
If you are 25 years or unde Provide proof of current lia I will request a 3A Certifie I enclose a money order or Send this form to the Court	recial Driver's License (If you possess a CDL you are no r, by law you are required to take and complete a Driver's ability insurance and copy of driver's license. Bed Copy of your driving record from DPS by applying a cashier's check (NO PERSONAL CHECKS) made pay	ot eligible to take Deferred Disposition regardless of the vehicle operated.)				
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		<del></del>				